Schedule

The schedule below is quite tentative.

All lecture notes can be found at intensecrypto.org.

Note that you will need to read the lecture notes for each lecture before it is given. There will be a quiz on Ed about the reading due by 11am of the morning of the lecture (no late days or extensions).

Final projects for Spring 2018 are now available online - thanks to everyone for all their work!

Tentative schedule

Lecture Day Date Topic
1 Tuesday Jan 28 introduction
2 Thursday Jan 30 Computational security
3 Tuesday Feb 4 Pseudorandom generators
4 Thursday Feb 6 Pseudorandom (aka key derivation) functions
5 Tuesday Feb 11 Pseudorandom functions from pseudorandom generators, block ciphers
6 Thursday Feb 13 Chosen ciphertext security
7 Tuesday Feb 18 Hash functions, random oracles, proofs of work, cryptocurrencies
8 Thursday Feb 20 More hash functions: Entropy extraction, protecting passwords, slow hashes, merkle trees
9 Tuesday Feb 25 Public key cryptography, the obfuscation paradigm, Diffie Hellman and DSA
10 Thursday Feb 27 Concrete candidates: RSA
11 Tuesday Mar 3 Lattice based crypto
12 Thursday Mar 5 Secure communication and the “handhsake”, SSL/TLS and friends
13 Tuesday Mar 10 Fully homomorphic encryption 1
14 Thursday March 12 Fully homomorphic encryption 2
spring break
15 Tuesday March 24 Review of public key crypto, secure channels, and FHE
16 Thursday March 26 Zero Knowledge Proofs
17 Tuesday March 31 Multiparty secure computation 1
18 Thursday April 2 Multiparty secure computation 2
19 Tuesday April 7 Software obfuscation 1
20 Thursday April 9 Software obfuscation 2
21 Tuesday April 14 Quantum computing and crypto
22 Thursday April 16 Quantum computing and crypto 2
23 Tuesday April 21 TBD
24 Thursday April 23 Embedded EthiCS
25 Tuesday April 28 Course recap